HTTP Status Codes (RFC 2616) In Web API


In this article we will learn about some status codes and understand them completely.

  1. 100 Continue

    The client should continue with its request. This interim response is used to inform the client that the initial part of the request has been received and not yet been rejected by the server.

  2. 101 Switching Protocols

    The protocol should be switched only when it is advantageous to do so. For example, switching to a newer version of HTTP is advantageous over older versions, and switching to a real-time, synchronous protocol might be advantageous when delivering resources that use such features.

  3. Successful 2xx

    This class of status code indicate that the client request is successfully received.

  4. 200 OK

    This request is succeeded, the information returned with the help of response.

  5. 201 Created

    The request has been fulfilled and resulted in a new resource being created.

  6. 202 Accepted

    The request has been for accepted for processing but processing has not been completed.

  7. HTTP Error 203 - Non-Authoritative Information

    A 203 status code means the request was received and understood and that information send back to the response from a third party.

  8. 204 No Content

    The 204 response must not include a message-body, and thus always terminated by the first empty line after the header fields.

  9. 205 Reset Content

    The 205 reset content is a request from server to client to reset the document from which the original request will be sent.

  10. 206 Partial Content

    The server has fulfilled the partial GET request for the resource. The request MUST have included a Range header field indicating the desired range, and may have included an If-Range header field to make the request conditional.

Up Next
    Ebook Download
    View all
    View all